[Review] King Kay – Mr Gatsby


King Kay recently dropped his eleven track project, called Mr Gatsby, so I decided to take several listens and do a review.

I had a feeling I was going to like Mr Gatsby from the get go because I had heard “Shoreditch Resident” and “D’Angelo” featuring BEV Gang member Nehmy, previously. Also, from listening to the prologue, I was already hooked!

Firstly I did like the overall chilled out aura I was getting from this project, I’m a big Hip-Hop fan, and I was explicitly hearing Hip-Hop influences meandering within some of these tracks. I would also say this is definitely worth the listen if you’re a supporter of UK music but you also like a dash of american influence and a pinch of Neo-Soul.

Mr Gatsby is one of those projects I can’t wait to see performed in the flesh and with a live band (hopefully, fingers crossed). There was a line I distinctly liked from track no. three and I can’t stop repeating it – “The revolution will not be twitterised” – The Revolution.



1) Prologue

2) Social

3) The Revolution

4) D’Angelo ft Nehmy

5) The Wave

6) GTA/Mr Gatsby

7) Mr Gatsby Interlude

8) Shoreditch Interlude

9) Graduation (unplugged)

10) Jennifer ft Joey Bluegrass

11) D’Angelo Part II

Follow King Kay by clicking HERE!

Your thoughts on this post?